Wednesday, January 18, 2017

The curtain rises for our students at KCACTF on Monday!

Students from the Department of Theatre and Dance are about to depart for Des Moines, Iowa for the 49th Annual Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival. The festival, more commonly known as KCACTF (it's a mouthful, we know), is a national theatre program designed for students to showcase their work and receive feedback from responders. Over 18,000 students from colleges and universities compete nationwide every year. 

This year 12 nominees and their partners will compete from MSU. Tuesday afternoon the students held their annual Irene Ryan Showcase where they performed their packages for faculty, staff and other students in the program. Their performances got rave reviews!

Jesse Beulke accompanies Amanda Mai and Andrew Anderson

Daniel Lane and Michaela Shapiro

Mikhayla Clausen and Alexis Vencill

Throughout the week-long festival, students participate in a variety of workshops, professional auditions, musical theatre intensives and of course, the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarships. Two students are nominated for this award per show every calendar year. They are asked to pick a partner and put together a six-minute acting package. Out of the hundreds that compete, eight finalists are chosen (one from each region) to go to the Kennedy Center in DC. 

Maureen O'Malley and Matthew Sather

Claire Clauson and Alyssa Johnson

Claire Clauson and Emily Scinto

Cam Pederson and Billy Gleason

This year's Irene Ryan Nominees and their Partners
Andrew Andersen/Amanda Mai
Alex Blesi/Maureen O'Malley
Mikhayla Clausen/Alexis Vencill
Billy Gleason/Cam Pederson
Erin Horst/Amanda Mai
Alyssa Johnson/Claire Clauson
Daniel Lane/Michaela Shapiro
Doni Marinos/Jaclyn Britz
Matthew Sather/Maureen O'Malley
Emily Scinto/Claire Clauson
Gabe Sell/Michaela Shapiro
Jessica Staples/Mitchell Douglas

We wish them all many broken legs! Have a great week students!

No comments:

Post a Comment